Inhabit Education Books is a Nunavut-based educational publishing company with a mandate to provide educators and parents with educational resources that are infused with authentic Northern perspectives, ways of life, and imagery. Our publishing initiative always considers stories and information in an educational context. All of our publications are developed by a team of Northern educators and language experts. These titles incorporate concepts that students are familiar with—counting, animals, family, traditional stories, and so on—within a Northern context.

Our books are designed to support students across Canada in their literacy development while providing access to materials that reflect Canada’s diverse geography, culture, and traditions.

Nunavummi Reading Series

The Nunavummi reading series is a unique Nunavut-made levelled reading series that aligns the reading expectations of Inuktut (Inuktitut and Inuinnaqtun), English, and French. The reading series corresponds closely to the reading levels and expectations developed by the Department of Education in Nunavut. As well, equivalency to other levelled reading programs such as Fountas and Pinnell are also identified.

For southern educators, this series represents an opportunity to infuse their levelled reading programs with authentic Nunavut perspectives and knowledge. Canada is a country of cultural, geographic, and linguistic diversity, and the Nunavummi reading series helps educators create a literacy program that reflects this diversity, while easily fitting into existing levelled reading programs.

Books in the Nunavummi reading series build on the reader’s skills as he or she moves progressively from simple sentences to complex short stories and non-fiction informational books. Note: grade ranges are provided merely as a guide and may not reflect the developmental stage of a given individual reader.

Click here to see more information about each level.

Social Emotional Learning

Inhabit Education Books’ Social Emotional Learning series features thoughtful, engaging stories that help school-aged children identify and learn to regulate their emotions in healthy ways. This series lays the groundwork for good mental health in stories children will want to revisit again and again. All titles are available in English and Inuktitut, with select titles available in French.

Click here to browse titles in the Social Emotional Learning series.

Arvaaq Books

Arvaaq Books is an imprint of Inhabit Education Books that was developed for infants and young children. Books in this imprint are designed to help children explore the world around them and develop physical, social, emotional, cognitive, and language skills. All titles are available in English and Inuktitut and feature engaging topics told from an Arctic perspective.

Click here to explore our Arvaaq Book titles.


Qinuisaarniq Program

Qinuisaarniq (“resiliency”) is a program created to educate Nunavummiut about the history and impacts of residential schools, policies of assimilation, and other colonial acts that have affected the Canadian Arctic. Each resource has been carefully written and reviewed to include level-appropriate opportunities for students to learn about colonial acts and policies that have affected Inuit. These acts and policies created long-lasting impacts on Inuit individuals and communities, which are still being felt today.

Titles Include: Reflections from Them Days: A Residential School Memoir from Nunatsiavut, On the Side of Angels, Making a Whole Person: Traditional Inuit Education